A DOCTOR’S PRAYER

Oh! My Lord! Protector of human lives
Dhanvanthri! Vaidyanatha! My great Gods!
Thee gave me knowledge of human body
And mind, illness afflicting; health shoddy!

Illness knows no poor or rich, good or bad
Visits all indiscriminate, makes sad
Let me treat equally all, not for money
The relief that patients get- my honey!

Medical Man’s Ethics- not to be hung
Simply on the wall- I know, but to hug
To my heart of hearts and follow sincere
My Lord! Bless me with that spirit austere!

Let me learn more and more, newer and newer
Help me cure my patients faster and faster
Let my fees be the last priority
Words of love and solace first priority!

Page of tablets and tonics, let not my way
Keep them minimum to hold the sway
Consoling words and comforting touch
All should cure my patient as a magic touch!

One thought on “A DOCTOR’S PRAYER

Leave a Reply

