A SPORTSMAN’S PRAYER

Jesse Owens
Jesse Owens

Am proud and happy to be a sportsman on earth, my Lord!
Thou hath blessed me with body, mind, skills and talents, my God!
I know I have to keep all these in trim to prove my worth
All Thy gifts to be properly nursed and nourished on earth!

Ashamed I am when some members of my tribe indulge wrong
In an unethical and wrong manner to show them strong
Alas bringing shame to the sports fraternity-a farce
Help me not to and let me adopt means straight and fair!

Though aim and all efforts to succeed, failure and success
Treated at par- spirit of good performance be excess
To bring great laurels, accolades and praise to boost my strength
What all I need to thank Thee for all Thy kindness- great length!

The society and the powers that be to encourage
All deserving on merit and merit alone – in rage
For sports and spirit to develop in direction right
To establish the greatness of the art of sports-its might!

Leave a Reply

