GREEN MEMORIES- INSURANCE WEEK CELEBRATIONS!

Inaugurating 1600th Session and the open air class room “SHANTHINIKETHAN” in LIC Zonal Training Center, Ambattur, Chennai in 2000.
Inaugurating 1600th Session and the open air class room “SHANTHINIKETHAN” in LIC Zonal Training Center, Ambattur, Chennai in 2000.

In the life of our nation, no other financial Institution has played such a sterling service as Life Insurance Corporation of India. Yes; LIC has entered its sixtieth year of service on first September this year. Every year commencing on first September LIC observes INSURANCE WEEK CELEBRATIONS for a week and I was very, very particular that the WEEK must be observed meticulously in letter and spirit on all the seven days without exception and hence I in my forty years of LIC service, started organizing the Week at my different stages-as AAO (Development) in Coimbatore during 1969-1972, as ABM  (Administration) in Ooty (1972-1975), as SSS Liaison Officer, Thanjavur Divisional Office (1975-1978), as Administrative Officer (SDM’Sec./Development) (1981-1983), as  Branch/Senior Branch Manager in Erode Branch I (1983-1987), Coimbatore Avinashi Road  Branch (1987-1991), as Marketing Manager, Bikener, Thanjavur and Salem (1991-1995), as Senior Divisional Manager(Kadapa) (1995-1998), as Secretary(Marketing) Zonal Office, Chennai (1998-2001). I had the pleasure of involving myself directly with the celebrations in all these stages and places. While I was Administrative Officer (Audit and Inspection) South Zone (1978-1981) I could not involve in the Week. In this way, THIRTY Insurance Week Celebrations in which my direct involvement was there and they remain as quite GREEN MEMORIES! Sitting at my Flat in Jeevan Bima Nagar, Chennai, brooding over the past at my 75th year of age, I vividly and pleasantly look back on these Insurance Week Celebrations” which I would like to share with my great friends of LIC and outside.

In my first post in my ENVIUS THOUGHTS in https://nvsr.wordpress.com I have shared exhaustively “MY TRYST WITH LIFE INSURANCE CORPORAION OF INDIA”- four decade long journey!

Hence I would strictly touch upon my green memories of the INSURANCE WEEK CELEBRATIONS only in this SUN DAY story-in the course of 2015 celebrations.

Normally my Insurance Week extends to EIGHT days-eighth day- ADULT LITERACY DAY!

First of September falling on a week day will be the closing day in a Branch and hence the celebration will be restricted to the Inauguration of SPECIAL SERVICE COUNTER by a local dignitary in the Branch office premises.

Since it was my strong belief that the occasion should give a fillip to the image of the Institution, the rest of the seven days events will be conducted outside the Branch premises. One day will be for the children’s drawing, painting, essay writing like competition in any school premises. Another day for workers in a factory-an elocution contest for the workers on the benefit of Life insurance for them will be organized. Yet another day Woman’s day in a Woman’s hostel like YWCA etc. On all September fifth- Teachers’ Day will be organized in a local school –with a breakfast to the teachers-speeches in appreciation of the good work turned out by the teachers for the society. The school will be selected in such a way that Salary Savings Scheme can be introduced orextended in a big way!

Another day a talk in the Rotary/Lions/JCs Club about LIC and its achievements in serving the society will be delivered. Seventh day valedictory of the week will be held in a public auditorium with prize distribution and some cultural programme with an outsider Chief Guest.

Eighth day ADULT LITERACY day, in the adult education center in a village some donations like books, electric lights etc will be donated; participation in Government arranged functions.

With light variations in programs, all these thirty years celebrations are still green in my memory and pass through like a film!

In Erode Branch, with the cooperation of administrative and marketing teams, a Bus Shelter was donated in one year; one page supplementary on the Branch growth and achievements was brought out three years.

This was almost the same pattern everywhere where I served, Bikaner or Coimbatore, Salem or Thanjavur,  Kadapa or Madurai!

In particular the way in which Insurance Week Celebrations in Thanjavur Division is very, very green in my memory. My great colleagues in Thanjavur Division, besides other programmes in the Town Hall in the center of the city and in the Divisional Office premises performed a folk lore called VILLUP PATTU depicting the history of life insurance and the LIC and later as a rural  publicity program was performed in several rural pockets which naturally won  tremendous response from the public. The folk lore involves singing and speaking to the accompaniment of striking the strings of a big bow with a foot long stick.

A typical VILLUP PATTU scene- a great folklore!
A typical VILLUP PATTU scene- a great folklore!

Extensive press coverage used to be given in Hindu to Indian Express to Dinamalar to Dhinathanthi!

More heartening were the reports that appeared in Yogakshema and Southern Splendor SZ house magazine and South Central and Northern Zone House magazines.

These paper cuttings and the respective house magazines in my home library when I go through after 15 years of leaving LIC take me to very heavens!

A view of the YOGAKSHEMA prestigious house magazine of LIC of India.
A view of the YOGAKSHEMA prestigious house magazine of LIC of India.

“Bliss was it in that dawn to be alive but to be young was very heaven” a great poet wrote about Russian Revolution! It was indeed bliss to serve LIC for forty long years and more. In fact LIC is my Alma Mater where I learnt the great art and science of Life and living!

I took legitimate pride whenever YOGAKSHEMA the prestigious House magazine of LIC carried my articles on different subjects in those days when I was in service. But then, to find a story in AUGUST 2015 ISSUE OF YOGAKSHEMA written by Shri Hari Krishan Chaudhary,Chandigar under the title: “An encounter with a Septuagenarian Poet”  was heartwarming and took me to ecstasy as that encounter was with this writer!!!!!

While I am thankful to the author I am grateful to the Editor of Yogakshema for having published the same. I am indeed overwhelmed with the nice gesture shown to me by my Alma Mater.

I have reproduced the article for the ready reference to the readers along with the letter of my former colleague in Coimbatore Avinashi Road Branch about a quarter century ago!

GEETHA PRABHAKARAN

Sir,

I have attached herewith the scanned copy of the one page article by Shri Hari Krishan Chaudhary in the August 2015 issue of ‘Yogakshema’. The soft copy of the magazine is yet to be received from the publishers.

Sir, I felt very proud reading about your accomplishments and went about bragging in my department about your being my first boss when I had just joined LIC.

Hearty Congratulations on all your achievements and I wish you many more accolades!

With warm regards,

Geeta Prabhakaran

04

Here are a few photographs taken during the Insurance Week Celebrations in different places and different years for the perusal of my respected and beloved viewers from 173 countries.  Some of these photographs are my great possessions indeed!

Photos are always very great memory servers! I am very fond of yesterday’s photos in the print form and in fact I have a few with me for almost four decades!; in these digital days, any number photos of any decades are well stored in our computer system; yet the printed photos have their own charm and beauty! I do preserve some of them so carefully that they come to my help for any occasion and in any of my literary journeys!

Inauguration Week Celebrations in Erode - thirty years ago.
Inauguration Week Celebrations in Erode – thirty years ago.
In Coimbatpre Avinashi Road Branch – during 1987-1991
In Coimbatpre Avinashi Road Branch – during 1987-1991
Drawing / painting competition for school children.
Drawing / painting competition for school children.
IW Celebrations in CBE Rotary Club Prize distribution- Coimbatore
IW Celebrations in CBE Rotary Club Prize distribution- Coimbatore
Inauguration Week Celebrations-Avinashilingam Home Science College- Coimbatore
IW Celebrations-Avinashilingam Home Science College- Coimbatore
IWC-in Seerangammal Kalvi Nilayam Teachers Day -Coimbatore
IWC-in Seerangammal Kalvi Nilayam Teachers Day -Coimbatore
Insurance Week Celebrations Salem Division d in September 1994
Insurance Week Celebrations Salem Division d in September 1994
Insurance Week Celebrations in Kadapa- 1995-1998
Insurance Week Celebrations in Kadapa- 1995-1998
Insurance Week Celebrations-Kadapa Division- 1995-1998
Insurance Week Celebrations-Kadapa Division- 1995-1998
At Kadapa LIC Redsidents Association meeting
At Kadapa LIC Redsidents Association meeting

In this way, my memories of Insurance Week Celebrations in different stations and different years are still green and fresh in my mind.  I used to tell my agents in those days that they should perform in such a manner that will remain ever green in my memories and I will be happily recollecting the same in my seventies and eighties reclining in my easy chair and responded splendidly in all my marketing assignments. Precisely that is what I am doing now on my tryst with LIC and in particular these Insurance Week Celebrations.

Thanks my dear viewers for your patient viewing!

Leave a Reply

